Home FeaturesNews Josh Turner Announces New Christmas Album

Josh Turner Announces New Christmas Album

by Mallory Arbour
Josh Turner

Country and gospel singer and actor, Josh Turner has announced that he will release his first-ever Christmas album, King Size Manger, on October 8. The record, produced by Kenny Greenberg, will include fresh interpretations of the classics as well as four originals, three of which were co-written by Turner.

He says, “Making a Christmas record can be a mighty daunting task for an artist. There are so many songs to choose from and there’ve been so many versions of those songs throughout history. It can be intimidating to know whether you’ll be able to measure up to what’s already been done and when I get to that point, I step back and remind myself that I have to do what I hear in my heart.

You may be surprised to hear my arrangement on some of these songs that you know so well. We had a lot of fun throwing out all the preconceived notions of what a Christmas record should sound like. In my opinion, it’s about the words and the heart and soul of how a song sounds. You don’t need jingle bells on a song to make it a Christmas song.”

The album features collaborations with Pat McLaughlin, bluegrass singer-songwriter Rhonda Vincent, and world-renowned ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro and Grammy-nominated Hawaiian trio Ho’okena on the solo penned, Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana.  Turner will also be joined by his wife and four boys singing on the holiday classic, Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas, a family tradition Turner wanted to feature on this special album.

King Size Manger Tracklist:
  1. Angels We Have Heard On High
  2. What He’s Given Me (Featuring Pat McLaughlin)
  3. King Size Manger
  4. Joy To The World (Featuring Rhonda Vincent)
  5. Soldier’s Gift
  6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Featuring The Turner Family)
  7. Go Tell It On The Mountain
  8. Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana (Featuring Jake Shimabukuro and Ho’okena)
  9. The First Nowell
  10. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town
  11. Silent Night, Holy Night

Keep up to date with Josh Turner on his Facebook page here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: via Facebook

Related Articles