Home FeaturesNews American Aquarium release 90s country covers album

American Aquarium release 90s country covers album

by Mallory Arbour
American Aquarium

Alt-country band American Aquarium have surprised fans with a new album full of classic ‘90s country hits from Trisha Yearwood, Jo Dee Messina, Brooks & Dunn and more. The band revealed the new project via social media, calling the songs “some of our favourite ’90s country hits and we hope y’all enjoy listening to it as much as we enjoyed making it.”

The 10-song album, titled Slappers, Bangers & Certified Twangers, Volume One, opens with a cover of Sammy Kershaw’s Queen of my Double Wide Trailer and closes with Toby Keith’s debut single, Should’ve Been A Cowboy. The album also includes a rendition of Mary Chapin Carpenter’s Down at the Twist and Shout, Joe Diffie’s John Deere Green, Faith Hill’s Wild One and more.

Frontman BJ Barham says, “Most singer-songwriters like to pretend they came out of the womb listening to Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, but if you were born in the mid-’80s and lived in the South, you were probably raised on the same steady diet of ’90s radio country as I was. The kinds of songs that you haven’t heard in 20 years, but when they randomly come on the radio you still miraculously know every word.”

He adds, “These songs transport me back to a very specific time and place in my childhood. The summers spent riding around town in the backseat of my dad’s Blazer, windows down, radio up, singing along at the top of my lungs to take my mind off the vinyl seats scalding the back of my legs.”

As well as digitally, the album is available to buy on CD, John Deere green vinyl, or limited-edition cassette tape through their online merch store.

Slappers, Bangers & Certified Twangers, Volume One is the band’s 12th studio release and follows their 2020 album Lamentations, which peaked at #16 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart.

Slappers, Bangers & Certified Twangers, Volume One track list:
  1. “Queen of My Double Wide Trailer” (Sammy Kershaw)
  2. “Some Girls Do” (Sawyer Brown)
  3. “I Try to Think About Elvis” (Patty Loveless)
  4. “She’s in Love With the Boy” (Trisha Yearwood)
  5. “John Deere Green” (Joe Diffie)
  6. “Wild One” (Faith Hill)
  7. “Lost and Found” (Brooks & Dunn)
  8. “Down at the Twist and Shout” (Mary Chapin Carpenter)
  9. “Heads Carolina, Tails California” (Jo Dee Messina)
  10. “Should’ve Been a Cowboy” (Toby Keith)

Keep up to date with American Aquarium on their Facebook page here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: via Facebook

Related Articles